Ode to Joy 欢乐颂-it’s about time to add to that “modern chinese tv to recommend” list

Don’t be scared. Somehow TV show premises where a bunch of beautiful strangers get stuck in a broken elevator (like that scene in tamaki hiroshi’s Love Shuffle)… just works. Ode to Joy is a clink of champagne glasses to sisterhood, to the many ways different personalities deal with confusing relationships, and explores the Chinese social standing and modern worklife.

Key takeaway for me:

  • it’s relatable and personal
  • but not soo deep that you can see Adele rolling in it
  • the girls made the mistakes in their love life so that you don’t have to?

I highly recommend it if, like me, you haven’t touched a modern Chinese drama in a while because of the dreaded “mid-show hump” that seems to plague every show out of the mainland, ever. And even though I promise you will end up hating all the female leads at least once in the show, you’ll grow fond of them all over again.

With that said, who is excited for season 2?!

 

About Bumbleberri

Founder and editor of Entertainment Blog, UnderratedGems. Hobbies that I do in my free time: trying to get more sleep and satisfying my TV addiction. Currently in the process of a grueling job hunt.

3 responses to “Ode to Joy 欢乐颂-it’s about time to add to that “modern chinese tv to recommend” list”

  1. coffeenlucia says :

    Ooh, think I will try this drama if it’s similar to Love Shuffle. BTW, welcome back to blogging!

  2. charandtheweb says :

    I have watched a ton of K/J/TW dramas but for some reason never checked out Mainland China (I love their movies though). For some reason I always assumed they’d be much more traditional, and much longer than other dramas (don’t ask me why). I’m definitely interested in checking one out so thanks for this recommendation. Nice blog too by the way, one can never watch too many dramas and movies. Anyhow, how’d you feel about sharing your work on Moviepilot/Creators? I’d love to expand on that so feel free to send me an e-mail. My contact details are on my blog. Hope to hear from you.

Leave your thoughts

