Hwang Jin Yi (Fashion)

Modern Day Courtesan
“I hope that the life you will live won’t be too much to handle. And that you will be happy…” – Hwang Jini (Asian Drama Quotes)
This time around, I style Chosun-era famous courtesan Hwang Jini 황진이.
jang-geun-suk-hwangjini-screencaps
Hwang Jin Yi Facts:
  • based on a true story of a 16th century gisaeng, the love child of a nobleman and gisaeng, the plot tells her rise to success and her three loves (one of them was Jang Geun Suk!!)
  • popular Korean actresses Ha Ji Won and Song Hye Kyo both played the character
  • the program’s success inspired a boom in interest in kisaengs in South Korea
I remember the lovely soundtrack of the series, the exquisite cinematography, and the suspenseful cliffhangers. What catches your eyes the most (and obviously) is the aesthetics; the luxurious fabrics, bold lipcolor, dramatic skirts, and floral patterns of the gisaeng. Though Jini’s fancy attire may be more suitable for ancient times (or today’s gisaeng = modern day courtesans), you can also rock her dramatic style, modified and wearable. To me, the bralette and the skirt pairing makes for a sultry look that is still classy.
If the weather gets chilly, simply slip on a red or white cardigan over the floral bralette. I think this outfit will be a great night-out-with-the-girls look. What do you think?
***
Click the like button if you enjoy character inspired fashion! It really helps me.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Bumbleberri

Founder and editor of Entertainment Blog, UnderratedGems. Hobbies that I do in my free time: trying to get more sleep and satisfying my TV addiction. Currently in the process of a grueling job hunt.

3 responses to “Hwang Jin Yi (Fashion)”

  1. heisui says :

    I think it’s really cool how you’re doing these drama-inspired fashion posts! It is hard to interpret the ancient fashions into modern-day outfits ne? I remember reading this other blog that talked about some of the fashion in k-dramas and I was quite impressed.

    I haven’t watched this drama but I would imagine her to have some black stiletto heels, haha!

    • Bumbleberri says :

      Great! I don’t plan on stopping 😛 Yes… and especially because everyone has their own interpretations. But I like it because it presents more of a challenge and brings out my creative juices than just picture by picture of a modern day character’s outfit (I like all of Kotoko’s outfits though! might do them).
      Your suggestion might actually be better haha! Definitely would work as a step more dressy than casual night out.

      • heisui says :

        Yeah Kotoko’s outfits are really doable. Maybe you could do one where you try to make a similar outfit to one of hers? Or even choose a few of her outfits do do.

Leave your thoughts

