Liebster Award: 11 Random Facts + My Questions!

Thank you to these lovely bloggers who have nominated me: justwackywootness, and redbeanmochi. If you want to see pretty screenshots of eye candy or interesting drama recs & tags, there’s something for everyone over on their blogs, so make sure to check them out. I’ve seen this award everywhere and now I can be apart of it! – Now, let’s get to the meat of this! 

Let’s First Get the {Official Rules} Out of The Way:

1. List 11 random facts about yourself.
2. Answer the questions designated by the blogger(s) who nominated you.
3. Place YOUR nominations for the Liebster Award! Nominate five (or more) other bloggers that have less than 200 followers. Make sure to notify them via comment/email, etc.
4. Make up a set of questions for those nominated bloggers to answer.
5. Display the Liebster award badge on your blog!

2013-04-22 03.22.05

1. I’m really good with video editing programs. I have spent more than half the time I need to marathon a drama on Sony Vegas Pro to edit video clips, and nah I just do this for family and friends, not professionally. Anyone who needs a video editor for the summer, you can hire me. 

2. My first TV drama was Eloquent Ji Xiao Lan. I watched it with my parents and stayed up until 4 the next morning. The plot is about a quirky and super smart scholar who is also a high official of the Qing dynasty who meets two 女侠 and totes around his trusty cigar as he embarks on adventures (sometimes with Emperor Xianlong) to put a stop to corrupt officials who harm peasants. And he gets romantically involved with more women than you can imagine. Nix that last part.

3. I buy a lot of lip products. Never can have enough. Out of all the lipsticks, lip butters, lipgloss, and tints out there, I find that lip balms are what I end up reaching for the most. 

4. I can’t sing, but I like to record myself singing. Do you do this too…? I used to really enjoy ballads/slightly sad songs (think: What Hurts the Most or Beautiful Soul) but I’ve since moved to upbeat and fun songs.

5. High tech transportation and gadgets fascinate me. Knowing this, no one should be surprised that I’m so looking forward to Google’s GLASS and China’s eco-friendly straddle bus (which btw, will probably not be around for a long while given that it was announced in the news years ago -_-)

6. I’m a proud bilingual! I am proficient in both English and Mandarin Chinese. And I’m also half decent at French, somewhat decent at Japanese, and I can guess without subtitles what Koreans in kdramas are saying (you are free to call bs on that btw haha, because I’m sure anyone can get the gist of what they’re saying just from watching their expressions and intonations in their voice)

7. Is it just me, or are half-Asians smoking hot? Nope, I think somebody agrees with me. Hehe.

8. I can’t stand people who are judgmental. I’m talking about extremely judgmental of other people and can’t stay quiet for a moment without commenting on something.

9. Before I had them, I thought having braces was the raddest (that’s a word right?) thing. I think it was either like a bandwagon deal where all everyone had them and I didn’t, or I just thought it looked aesthetically appealing.

10. I love going to the airport. Packing for international travel has always been the best part  – I try to fit minimal stuffs that are multi-purpose and stylish into my bag. I love traveling in general. Never been to Hawaii or Singapore but I sure hope I can someday.

11. Birthday cakes from Asian bakeries > American birthday cakes. Fluffy, slightly sweet heaven in every bite. American cakes on the other hand….!!! What is up with that loaded sugar in our cupcakes. For those of you who like icing, you can have mine! I’m just eating the cake. We’ve been fed oreos, Lay’s chips, cupcakes, hot dogs, and Sprite as rewards at school, and the only food options at festivals/fairs- and you wonder why Americans have issues with acne and obesity? (I can only say I’m grateful for the fact I had a health nut in my family)

— 11 Random Facts….done!!

2013-05-30 17.59.46

Okay, now I’m going to answer some questions my nominators asked. Some of those questions are seriously thought-provoking so that’s awesome. I might answer quite lengthy in some Qs. Let’s see who will actually get though all of my answers!

=JUSTWACKY=

1. What inspires you in life? I’m going to go generic and say my family. Particularly my maternal grandma. She is infectiously joyful and dances randomly and wears sparkly ¥10 jewelry that she purchases from the street vendor. She inspires me to be happy whenever I can. Love you grandma.

2. There’s a place in Kuala Lumpur that serves food in the dark. You don’t have to order, they only serve you the same kind of meals. Would you go there and why?  I think I might go just for the interesting concept. But what if its something I can’t eat or I’m allergic to?

3. Photographs are considered as memories to us. Agree?

Agree.

Haha just kidding I had more. When I flip through my yearbook or look back to my childhood pictures, sometimes I get that pang feeling. Just on particular photos. I wish I could redo that moment. I wish I would not be so stubborn and just tell someone I loved them. I wish I could be honest with myself. There’s a lot of feelings when we look at photographs, but memories are what photos are meant to be. You can’t go back and tweak that moment. That’s why maybe we should just remember that we always have today to change ourselves.

4. Without Kdramas or TVB dramas your life would never be the same anymore. What are your thoughts on it?

I don’t watch TVB dramas so I can’t comment on that one. As for Kdramas, surprisingly, not really. I don’t remember the last time I’ve finished a Kdrama series. Mostly it’s just me catching up on Kdrama recaps via Dramabeans or see tidbits of otpness on Youtube.

5. Love rice? I love it with my bibimbap for sure!

=GIVE ME DRAMAS=

1. Who is your ALL TIME favourite second lead? You know, the one you cheered for and desperately hoped for a break in drama law so that they could end up with the girl.

OMG that has to be Tamaki from Japanese drama “Asuko’s March”. Tamaki (played by Kaku Kento) and Nao (played by Takei Emi) were SO perfect for each other… I can’t even. I even wrote a post on them. All signs indicated they would, but….they didn’t? With Korean and Taiwanese series, all the pairings are so clear-cut that as viewers, we wouldn’t even dare dreaming up other OTPs because we knew those would never ever happen. With Chinese Mainland series and Japanese series, you just might get a surprise. Japanese television, you have disappointed me.

2. What is your favourite snack to eat while watching dramas?

I eat everything and anything I can grab from a meter circumference’s distance. Today’s snacks include watermelon slices, smoking bbq goldfish, and chocolate-chip cookies.

3. Noodles or rice? Noodles > rice.

Noodle dishes I love: cold noodles (yeah this is a dish), black bean sauce noodles (zhajiangmian), tonkatsu ramen

rice dishes I love: bibimbap, kimbap, california sushi roll, chinese dishes with rice

4. Would you ever go on We Got Married? If yes with whom?

The show is quite scripted and having cameras following my every move or dialogue will make me say the wrong things to Yamapi. I mean, Zhu Zi Xiao. Wait, sorry, I got Kim Bum’s name wrong. Hehe. That’s also why I can’t go on WGM. Unless everyone is allowed a custom-made reverse-harem thing going on, like Shan Cai and her F4. How fun it could be to be on WGM with your tailor-made F4. Every woman’s dream.

5. TW dramas, K dramas, or J dramas?

J dramas for originality and always stepping outside of the realm of predictability (but sometimes they’re really, really strange). Honestly I felt even Hana Yori Dango was strange. The parts where those high school students seem to blindly follow orders to attack students who were red-ticketed by the F4, that still creeps me out. If I want to go for some effortlessly lighthearted fare, I go for TW drama.

=WOOTNESS=

1. Who is your favorite actor/actress? Why?

OOOh I can’t pick. At the moment, Luo Jin, by a far shot. Ever since Schemes of Beauty. He definitely needs more recognition in China. Luo Jin pwned Sammuel Chan in that drama.

2. If a Zombie Apocalypse happened tomorrow, what would your weapon of choice be? Why?

Oh my I have no idea.

3. What is your biggest pet peeve?

Getting yelled at to wake up in the morning.

4. What made you start your blog? Does anyone in your family know about your blog?

Prior to UnderratedGems, I had kept a few personal blogs and websites on live journal and blogger but they weren’t sustained well (and I’m still working on keeping up with posting). I got into fashion and asian TV series about the same time, back in 2005. I think Dramabeans definitely was a key component of me starting a blog reviewing Asian entertainment. My family knows about the blog. Before entering the blogosphere, I managed lots of journals where I would make comparisons between shows/actors I liked watching and jot down thoughts so it just seemed natural that it would translate into a blog. I want people to know more about C-dramas and underrated celebrities.

5. Who would you want to play you in a movie?

Who, the, what, huh? I would want Aragaki Yui to portray me. Wang Likun and Miss A’s Suzy are runners up.

6. Comedy or Drama?

Comedy.

7. What are you listening to right now?

8. Jackie Chan or Jet Li?

Jet Li. Stolen my heart since Romeo Must Die.

9. What are you looking forward to this year?

Tiny Times movie adaptation that comes out at the end of June! Palace movie at the end of summer(?)! I’m actually psyched to see Chen Xiao with Zhou Dongyu. They both look great in period costume.

10. What is your guilty pleasure?

I don’t have any. ^^ I think watching asian TV shows obsessively already qualify.

2013-03-25 12.08.52

I nominate….

JoleCole Station: I’ve been to Jole’s blog many times to get my dose of Chinese drama. Very interesting and well thought-out posts. I got into Female Prime Minister/Legend of Lu Zhen because of her site!

Heisui: Heisui pretty much raves about her favorite period dramas, C-dramas, and now J-dramas. Haha. I love it though. Her energy and enthusiasm simply bleeds through her blog posts!

Michelle Guo: From following her travels and cultural experiences in Beijing, I feel like I grow more fascinated with China living and tech and cross-cultural marriage with each new post. Congrats on getting to the freshly-pressed part of WP btw! That is incredible.

NeeNee from AsianAddictsAnonymous: I think NeeNee’s blog might be one of my earliest exposures to drama blogging! Anywho, I love the story behind how she began blogging and her recaps.

That’s it for now, I guess I follow a lot of people who have more than 200 followers. I’m aware some of you have already done this award or got bombarded with nominations already. If you did, just take it that I really enjoyed reading your blog and wanted to give yall a shout out! 😛

My questions:

1) Name one favorite television series you can watch over and over again.

2) Stuck in the elevator with 5 celebrity crushes! Who are they?

3) What’s a funny or awkward situation you have encountered lately? If you can’t remember, it can be earlier than recently.

4) Italian, Chinese, Korean, or Japanese…..food?

5) Do you have one bad habit that keeps persisting and you desperately want to conquer?

*IF you are reading this, you have successfully reached the end of one absurdly long post. You deserve a cookie - wait - more than onecookie - two! And since you're here already, leave me a comment.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Bumbleberri

Founder and editor of Entertainment Blog, UnderratedGems. Hobbies that I do in my free time: trying to get more sleep and satisfying my TV addiction. Currently in the process of a grueling job hunt.

7 responses to “Liebster Award: 11 Random Facts + My Questions!”

  1. heisui says :

    OMGAWD. TAMAKI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WAS SO SHIPPING HIM AND NAO BUT NO!!! SHE WENT FOR THE HOST GUY! AUGHHHHHHHHH. (But that’s ok, that means Tamaki is available for us 😛 )

    Thanks for the nomination, I will add them to my already existing post! :3 And yeah…I pretty much just rave and rant about whatever I am watching *W*

    • Bumbleberri says :

      Glad you think so too! I really want these two to collaborate in another jdrama and end up together haha.

      I saw the post- I’m glad you answered my questions! Yeee 😀 I’m there with you on procrastination.

      Okay so you totally got me into Itazura na Kiss. I didn’t really think I’d watch it because I already knew the story memorized thanks to ISWAK… but somewhere along your recaps, I couldn’t resist. So here I am on episode one *sigh*. So good. Is it strange that this Kin guy is the first I’m falling for? The actor totally makes his character more likable than he’s supposed to be! Especially since Kin’s never gonna end up with Kotoko…

      • heisui says :

        AHAHA I’m glad I have lured you over to INK! Yes this Kin is so adorable and sweet, just wait, he gets even better further into the drama!

  2. redbeanmochi says :

    Hahahaha your WGM answer made me laugh so hard.

    Congrats on no. 6, agreed with no. 11, and LOL at no. 7. Hapas ftw! 😛

  3. wootness says :

    You’ve got me listening to that song on repeat now!

    • Bumbleberri says :

      YES! Glad to know you like it 😛 It’s been a week and I am still hooked on this and other songs Silence W has sung. You should check out some of his other works, they’re also really good.

  4. adramafilledworld says :

    GREAT POST! I agree on most of your facts too, I mean just look at Rhydian Vaughn and Tiffany Hsu (Number 7).

Leave your thoughts

