Keira Knightley becomes a 19th Century Russian aristocrat in “Anna Kareina”

Skinnny cowwwwsies. I’m down for this the moment I saw the cast and trailer. Though I have just a hint of bad aftertaste from all those ‘artistic’ movies with striking cinematography but no storyline. Doesn’t matter.

So here’s my story: browsing Keira Knightley’s pictures in search for hairstyle inspirations, I find that she’s in this new movie that will release in theaters November 16th. But that’s not all, not only do I find this “19th century Russian romance” totally up my alley, Aaron Johnson is the romantic interest. And he plays a Count (gives off a regal, dracula vibe). Gorgeous actors all the way. Though I’m not fond of Johnson’s scruffy image, eh. Aaron makes it up with this soulful eyes. He gets to sport a hilariously fake moustache that curls upwards in this movie, Anna Karenina.

Set in late-19th-century Russia high-society, the aristocrat Anna Karenina enters into a life-changing affair with the affluent Count  Vronsky. [Imdb]

My only complaint is the movie doesn’t convince me at all of the Russian culture that it is supposed to, etc. In fact, since this movie is directed by an English director Joe Wright and played out by English actors Knightley, Johnson, and Law, viewers won’t be getting much of an authentic Russian story feel. As far as trailer shows, it’s quite a similar atmosphere and quality as Atonement, which is also directed by Wright.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Bumbleberri

Founder and editor of Entertainment Blog, UnderratedGems. Hobbies that I do in my free time: trying to get more sleep and satisfying my TV addiction. Currently in the process of a grueling job hunt.

Leave your thoughts

