[February 2012] My Booknerd List

So I’ve been into reading recently… Prior to this, my reading material has consisted exclusively of textbooks and assigned english classics. When I was growing up in Texas, I’d check out 27 novels at a time from my local library.Topics like mystery, romance, interior designing, and travel were my favorites. I’d get home and devour those books like there’s no tomorrow. No dinner, little sleep. I miss those bookworm days! I’m comingg back BABE. Books are so traditional, and yet, so fascinating, elegant, lovely, delicious….haha it’s like I’m falling in love all over again.

Ever since I stopped reading just for the sake of enjoyment, my communication skills went on shut down mode. Okay it wasn’t that bad, but… The serious part though is the effect it did to my writing. I could express myself as well as I’d like to because my vocabulary became limited. I started getting Bs in my writing classes, which rarely happened to me prior to my book-hiatus. I got comments on my paper like “repetitive” “awk use of words” and “too wordy”. Well thank goodness for blogging! It has definitely let me hone my writing a bit since I get to practice writing on here. And reading actual novels of course.

MsCadybb’s READS

Da Mo Yao/Ballad of the Desert: Yes this is a Chinese book. It’s a Han dynasty love story. I’m checking this out thanks to Koala’s contagious blog rave  😛 But this looks really difficult. I could hardly get past the first chapter! But always nice to hone my chinese I guess.. Well I can always check out Koala’s awesome translations if I don’t get some parts.

Undead & Unappreciated: Library book I picked up because it’s refreshing to have a heroine be the vampire for once. Seriously. I have no idea if this will turn out great or land in my ‘whatever’ pile.

Confessions of a Serial Dater: Don’t have too much expectations for it yet but from skimming some pages, the writing hints that it’s going to be a fun ride.

The Kissing Booth (from Wattpad): I don’t know why, but it’s just easier to read from amateur writers online than from established novels you get from the library. Thanks to my friend Aya, I am now addicted to the stories from this site. Wattpad is amazing from what the stories I’ve read so far on that site. Most of the writing have fewer grammatical mistakes than fanfiction writers (like ones on fanfiction.com and winglin.net, meccas for fanfic obsessers). BACK to the story… I think it was kind of difficult to immerse into the story at first. Once you get what is going on, the story gets pretty interesting and you’ll want to know how Rochelle and Noah’s story develops.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Bumbleberri

Founder and editor of Entertainment Blog, UnderratedGems. Hobbies that I do in my free time: trying to get more sleep and satisfying my TV addiction. Currently in the process of a grueling job hunt.

Leave your thoughts

